I’ve Got a Tower

InMon inspired. I’ve been seriously blocked lately, and this helped me a little. Thank you!

 

 

I stare down from my tower, always amazed with the immense space below. A field of death surrounds its base. Many men lay dead, either their weapons held high or cradling their wives and children. An entire nation is razed. A silence only found of the lost is in the stale air.

But I can hear them. Their screams of agony. Their cries for mercy. The ground whispers faintly with their voices. It rings out across the country, piercing and shrill. And so unbearably mournful. The song of sorrow. The melody of death.

It stretches beyond the horizon, this field of bodies. An endless ocean of red reflects against the sky, setting the clouds ablaze. Rays of the sun’s last light grace the endless expanse of the heavens in colors of pink and gold and red. But the colors do not change. They do not shift. What shadows they may cast are forever embedded into the scene.

I’ve got a tower, for which I can see all. My home, my country lay as cold as my love under the sun’s eternal set. Light step and heavy heart, I wish my tower would come crashing down.

About T.K.

I'm an LGBT writer, biological anthropology student, and an ardent aro(mantic).* *One who does not feel romantic attraction.
This entry was posted in Short Passages and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’ve Got a Tower

  1. Gorgeous. That last line hits hard.

  2. Pingback: Inspiration Monday: don’t watch the news « BeKindRewrite

  3. KP says:

    Poignant.

  4. DBJohnson says:

    Powerful. Well done!

Leave a Reply

