Kind Lie

Another Inmon. This one was especially hard to write because I was listening to Shane Mack’s “More than This.” Really sad song. Made me want to cry whilst writing this.

 

He left just as he always did. One foot after the other, a slight limp in his stride. Like a fool, I stood in the doorway until his form disappeared over the road. For a few moments, I didn’t move, but the morning sun’s light filtering through the window gave me reason to finally close the door.

I stepped up to the picture sitting atop the old stone fireplace. The white of my wedding dress was bright in the sun’s grace. The wedding dress was mine. I knew that. The woman smiling in it. I didn’t know her. The grinning man beside her. I didn’t know him.

But I guess I did know him. He was the man I made lunch for every morning. He was the father of my children. He was the man I tearfully waited for every night. I knew him. I knew her. I knew them.

And I waited. Don’t know why I waited so much. But I was waiting. Waiting and waiting. Waiting for him to come home. Waiting for him to leave. Waiting for another bad excuse. Waiting to finally be set free.

Yet waiting for that kind lie.

About T.K.

I'm an LGBT writer, biological anthropology student, and an ardent aro(mantic).* *One who does not feel romantic attraction.
This entry was posted in Short Passages. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kind Lie

  1. Powerful: nice work! Great example of “show, don’t tell.”

  2. Pingback: Inspiration Monday: fishing for insults « BeKindRewrite

Leave a Reply

