Praying for Sleep

First attempt at InMon. The prompt “Praying for Sleep” spoke to me the most since I have insomnia.

As I stared at the ceiling, I was reminded of my grandfather’s insanity. He was so sure that he would die in his sleep that he told me every night before bed, “Good night. Sleep tight. I won’t see you in the morning.” For eight years he said that. And as fate would have it, he died in a car accident. Of course, he might have fallen asleep at the wheel.

But I’ll never know.

The thought of my grandfather in the night, staring at my ceiling, made me wonder. And wonder. And wonder. And wonder a bit more. For questions do come of wondering. Did he pray for sleep? Was he just waiting for the sleep that would take him to infinity? Waiting to never open his eyes to the world?

But I’ll never know.

So I wondered these things, wondering as wonder-ors do. In my bed late in the night, I had thoughts go round and round my head as they often do. For I, too, pray for sleep. Praying. Praying. Praying. Wonder. Wonder. Wonder. Round. Round. Round. Again. And I stared up at the ceiling, wondering if my grandfather also stared at the ceiling. Praying for sleep.

But I’ll never know.

About T.K.

I'm an LGBT writer, biological anthropology student, and an ardent aro(mantic).* *One who does not feel romantic attraction.
This entry was posted in Short Passages and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Praying for Sleep

  1. Writer Jobs says:

    Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much.

    Enjoy writing? We would love for you to join us!

    Writers Wanted

  2. mrsreckless says:

    I love this. It speaks to me as I often stare at the ceiling at night, too. Anyway, nice piece of writing 🙂

  3. Ooo, nice. Great stream-of-consciousness story building, especially the back-story – you never slip into exposition! I enjoyed this very much.

    Welcome to InMon!

  4. Pingback: Inspiration Monday: epic naptime « BeKindRewrite

  5. elmowrites says:

    Welcome to InMon! I only join in every other week, but I love reading other people’s contributions. This was a great introduction – a stream of consciousness over the struggle we’ve all known to get past thinking and fall asleep. Look forward to seeing more from you
    Elmo

Leave a Reply

